Student Organizations

Diversity and Inclusion Student Orgs

 

 

 

International Student Orgs

International Student Union

President: Thais Gomes (thais.gomes@southeastern.edu)
Advisor: Mattie Hawkins (mattie.hawkins@southeastern.edu)
Requirements for Membership: Must be a current Southeastern student 
Meeting Information: Biweekly 
Amount of Dues: None
Description of Organization: The International Student Union is a diverse cultural entity.  Our main mission is to unite all cultures present on campus as well as to promote understanding and acceptance of difference cultures.  We serve as a support system to international students and strive to make them understand and blend with American culture.  Our goal is to promote togetherness, unity, friendship, and diversity.

Nepalese Student Association at Southeastern Louisiana University

President: Basanta Khakurel (Basanta.Khakurel@southeastern.edu)
Advisor: Dr. George Gibson (george.gibson@southeastern.edu)
Requirements for Membership: Open to anyone who is enrolled or employed at Southeastern 
Meeting Information: TBD
Amount of Dues: TBD
Description of Organization: NSAS is a special interest organization, focused in supporting Nepalese students at Southeastern, while at the same time sharing Nepalese culture and customs with the campus community 

 

Multicultural Student Orgs

Black Student Union

President: MaKayla Taylor  (makayla.taylor@southeastern.edu)
Advisor: Adonica Reed (adonica.reed@southeastern.edu)
Requirements for Membership: Membership is open to students enrolled in a minimum of 12 hours.
Meeting Information: Mondays at 5 pm in Fayard Hall
Amount of Dues: $30 per school year
Description of Organization: The purpose of the Black Student Union is to inspire, educate, and stimulate African-Americans to the benefit of their whole person and their fellow brother.  Since its founding, BSU has striven to improve race relations on campus and in the community by creating an environment that is in the community by creating an environment that is receptive to African-American culture.  BSU fully stands by the unification of African-Americans but are not limited to it.  This organization is open to all students enrolled at Southeastern.

ELITE Women

President: Jessica Scioneaux (jessica.scioneaux@southeastern.edu)
Advisor: Yazmyn Smith (yazmyn.smith@southeastern.edu)
Requirements for Membership: Must be a female student at Southeastern
Amount of Dues: $20 per semester
Meeting Information: Wednesdays at 6:00PM in Student Union 2207
Description of Organization: We are a women's empowerment organization that has a primary focus on mentorship and networking.  Our mission is to develop a network of women to improve knowledge sharing, provide personal and professional development resources, and encourage excellence in all aspects of life by the effective methods of instruction and leadership.

Flipside Dance

President: Malia Brown (malia.brown@southeastern.edu)
Advisor: Mattie Hawkins (fmattie.hawkins@southeastern.edu)
Requirements for Membership: Audition process held in the beginning of each semester
Amount of Dues: $25
Meeting Information: Monday and Wednesday, 8:00PM, Pennington Center
Description of Organization: Hip Hop based dance organization that performs at different on and off campus events and for student organization events.

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)

President: Cilicia Thornton (cilicia.thornton@southeastern.edu)
Advisor: Marjorie Parker (marjorie.parker@southeastern.edu)
Requirements for Membership: Pay membership dues and be enrolled at Southeastern.
Amount of Dues: $30
Meeting Information: Every Tuesday at 6PM in the Pennington Center Room 107.
Description of Organization: Informing members on problems in our society that effect minorities and enhancing our community, in which we serve. 

National Pan-Hellenic Council

President: Kahne Clark (kahne.clark@southeastern.edu)
Advisor: Mattie Hawkins(mattie.hawkins@southeastern.edu)
Amount of Dues: Varies.
Meeting Information: Varies.
Description of Organization: The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Inc. is represented at Southeastern Louisiana University by eight of the nine "Divine Nine" fraternities and sororities These chapters work together by engaging in collective programming and ideas through a variety of functions and activities while working to have a powerful impact on their communities.
Southeastern Website
National Website